Me So Lucky

A few hours ago I wrote a hopeful post. I wasn’t certain of anything but my own will to pull myself out of the hole in which I was stuck. If I didn’t know better, I’d say God heard my prayers, or I just got terribly lucky. But God doesn’t exist (in my head) and I don’t believe in luck.

It had to be one of the two though, cause these things don’t really happen all the time.

Looking back at the things I’ve been through, I think I have been lucky, you can say. About a year and four months ago, a friend called me asking me if I was available to work as a content writer at the place where she herself had just been hired. I’d been stuck part-timing in a miserable, low-paying shithole for nearly a year and money was tight. When I got the news that I’d been hired at this new place, I was ecstatic. The position was ten times cooler than the one I held in the previous place, and the money was quite enticing. I got lucky.

Now, just when things went from good to okay to bad to terrible to completely hopeless and intolerable at this same place where I once felt lucky, a simple message, a 2-line text, changed my situation almost completely, and forced me to put things under perspective.

I really dislike my career, Translation and Interpretation. I don’t respect it anymore, because so far it’s proven to be completely useless to me. It’s not my thing at all. In fact, one day I promised I’d never work in anything related to my field of study, despite being somewhat talented at it. Today, a friend of mine asked me if I was free to work as a translator/interpreter for a renowned T&I entrepreneur. Everyone knows I was quite desperate to leave my job and get away from everyone who was poisoning my soul at this place. And yet, when I read that message my friend sent me, I ignored it.

Just as I was about to delete it, I re-read it and immediately, I thought to myself, “what an idiot”. This is something that comes naturally to me, and I am actually quite good at, but I was going to let the opportunity pass me by because I hold irrational grudges against things. I replied, and ten minutes later, I had a new job.

It was luck. It had to have been luck. Either that, or I have incredibly well-connected friends who love me.

I’m actually happy right now and very excited about this new endeavor I’ve been presented with. I’m happy that I’m leaving a hostile environment behind, which is good for my inner calm and peace of mind. I’m happy that I’ll get an opportunity to network in my prospective field of work, and possibly get more ambitious projects if I prove to be capable enough. More than anything, I’m happy that I didn’t make a stupid mistake for once, and chose to give my abilities a shot.

Things always fall into place. I consider my previous blog entry a hopeful premonition of better things to come. I knew life wasn’t so terrible. Again, if I didn’t know better, I’d say I wrote that entry out of pure luck and thanks to an extremely acute sixth sense to predict things.

This is life and things like this happen all the time, yes they do. Sooner or later, even the worst hell can turn into a peaceful meadow. All you need is a little patience and a smile.

Leave a Reply

